The real stamp history of Malaysia begins with the Straits Settlements, which was the name of a collection of British colonies in the area. The first Straits Settlements stamps were issued on 1867, when the colonies were finally under direct control of London, instead of Britain´s Office in Calcutta. (1867 India Stamp with “East India Postage” – overprinted “EIGHT CENTS” for use in the Straits Settlements.
Also in 1867, the first stamps actually inscribed for the Straits Settlements were issued. There are overprints of these stamps for Johore, Perak, Selangor, Sungei Ujong.

History Straits Settlements

The Straits Settlements (Malay:Negeri-negeri Selat) were a group of British territories located in Southeast Asia. Originally established in 1826 as part of the territories controlled by the British East India Company, the Straits Settlements came under direct British control as a Crown colony on 1 April 1867. The colony was dissolved in 1946 as part…