The Federated Malay States comprising Perak, Selangor, Negeri Sembilan and Pahang was established on 1st July 1986. A Council of Malay Rulers for the Federated Malay States was instituted to discuss matters of importance with the British rulers. The first Conference of Malay Rulers, popularly known as DURBAR was held from the 13th – 17th July 1897 at Istana Negara, Bukit Chandan, Kuala Kangsar, Perak. The DURBAR conference was held nine times until the year 1939.
With the formation of the Federation of Malaya in 1948, the membership increased with the inclusion of the Unfederated Malay States i.e. Johor, Kedah, Perlis, Kelantan and Terengganu. The first Conference that was held on 18th February 1948 in Kuala Lumpur was chaired by His Royal Highness Sultan Ibrahim ibni Al-Marbum Sultan Abu Bakar, Sultan of Johor. The British rulers were represented by the High Commissioner for the Federated Malay States. The Conference of Rulers was held fifty times from February 1948 till August 1957.

After the Federation of Malaya achieved independence, the states of Melaka and Pulau Pinang became members as well. When Malaysia was formed in 1963, the states of Sabah and Sarawak were also admitted as members.
The first Conference of Rulers after independence was held on the 30th and 31st October 1957 and was chaired by His Royal Highness Tuanku Syed Putra ibni Al-Marbum Syed Hassan Jamalullail, Raja of Perlis. Only their Royal Highnesses are qualified to chair the conference by rotation according to the order as stipulated by the council. The Chief Ministers would attend as advisors to the Rulers and the Yang di-Perrua – Yang di-Pertua Negerei respectively. The King would be present only on the second day of the Conference accompanied by the Prime Minister as adviser.

The Conference of Rulers, established under Article 38 of the Federal Constitution, is held three times a year according to the Procedures of the Rulers Council 1988 (Peraturan Majlis Raja-Raja 1988). Since 1st August 1957 to March 1997 a total of one hundred and thirty-two Conferences have been held.





Date of Issue: 31.07.1997
30sen, 50sen, RM1, Presenation Pack