The 2010 AFF Cup sponsored by Suzuki and officially named the AFF Suzuki Cup 2010 took place from 1 to 29 December 2010. Indonesia and Vietnam hosted the preliminary stage from 1 to 7 December for Croup A and 2 to 8 December for Croup B. The semi-finals were played home and away with the first legs on 15 and 16 December 2010, and the second legs on 18 and 19 December 2010. The final was played over two legs on 26 December 20’10 and 29 December 2010.
In the first leg played on 26 December 2010 in Bukit lalil Stadium, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia beat Indonesia 3-0. In their second finals match at the Celora Bung Karno Stadium in Jakarta, Indonesia even though Malaysia lost 2-1, but due to the 3 goal advantage in the 1st leg played in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia beat neighbour Indonesia 4-2 on aggregate to win the AFF Suzuki Cup 2010 in the final on 29 December 2010 —southeast Asia’s premier tournament— and was declared the AFF Suzuki Cup 2010 Champion.