2015Masjid Negara, Malaysia’s National Mosque, is the nationwide symbol of Islam. August 26, 1965 National Mosque opens

70sen – Kota Kinabalu City Mosque
80sen – Zahir Mosque, Alor Setar
RM1 – 50th Anniversay National Mosque (with 50 Years Celebration Logo)
Sheets: 70sen x 20, 80sen x 20, RM1 x 20



50 years national mosque exhibition

Masjid Zahir is Kedah´s state mosque. It is located in the heart of Alor Star, the state capital of Kedah, Malaysia. It is one of the grandest and oldest mosques in Malaysia, built in 1912. Amongst the unique design of this mosque which was inspired by the vision of the late Sultan Muhammad Jiwa Zainal Abidin II is the five main domes which symbolises the five pillars of Islam. The stateßs Quran reacitation competition is held annually within the premises of the mosque. This mosque is known as one of the top 10 most beautiful mosques in the world.

The mosque is situated in the city of Kota Kinabalu, the capital of Sabah. It was officially opened in 2000 and can accommodate 12,000 worshippers. The mosque is known for its design that is similar to Masjid Nabawi in Medinah especially the blue and gold domes. It is also known as the “Floating Mosque” as the mosque is partially surrounded by a lagoon. This makes is so unique and breathtakingly beautiful.

Almarhum Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra Al-Haj is responsible for the idea to build Masjid Negara, which is currently the national mosque of Malaysia. Masjid Negara was built in 1965 and is strategically located in the city of Kuala Lumpur, next to the Kuala Lumpur Train Station. This mosque can accommodate a congregation of as many as 15,000 worshippers. The unique design of this mosque consists of seven main entrances and a minaret standing at 245 feet from the sea level, with a roof resembling a closed umbrella. On the other hand, the prayer hall resembles an open umbrella.

02 September 2015 POS Malaysia Press Release


KUALA LUMPUR, Thursday – In conjunction with the Golden Jubilee of the National Mosque, Pos Malaysia Berhad has issued stamps and philatelic products featuring images of three famous mosques in Malaysia.

Picturesque images of Zahir Mosque of Alor Setar, Kedah and Kota Kinabalu City Mosque, Sabah will accompany the National Mosque in this latest stamps collection.

The three mosques are chosen primarily for their stunning features that accentuate Islamic architecture and design, apart from being renowned as among the most beautiful mosques in Malaysia.

The stamps and philately collection will go on sale starting from Thursday, August 27.

The National Mosque stamp is priced at RM1.00 per piece, while Kota Kinabalu City Mosque and Zahir Mosque stamps will be sold at 80 sen and 70 sen per piece respectively. The stamps are measured at 40mm x 30mm.

“This is the fourth mosques stamps ever issued by Pos Malaysia, aimed to celebrate and bring to light the exceptional beauty and uniqueness of Malaysia’s mosques. The first collection was released in 1965 to commemorate the inauguration of the National Mosque,” said Mr. Azlan Shahrim, Covering Group Chief Executive Officer of Pos Malaysia.

Besides the National Mosque edition, Pos Malaysia has previously issued mosques stamps collection to commemorate the opening of the Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah Mosque in Shah Alam, Selangor in 1988 as well as in 2012 in conjunction with the celebration of 750 years of Malacca which featured Kampong Hulu Mosque.

“By featuring the selected mosques, we at Pos Malaysia hope to showcase the mosques’ best traits such as the National Mosque’s main roof which uniquely resembles opened umbrellas. Whereas the five main domes of Zahir Mosque symbolise the five pillars of Islam while the blue and gold dome of the Kota Kinabalu City Mosque bear a resemblance to the Prophet Muhammad’s Mosque in Madinah, “Azlan said.

A total of 450,000 pieces of special stamps will be up for sale at the post offices nationwide.

[TS_VCSC_Lightbox_Gallery content_images=”11934,11154,11149,11150,11151,11152,11153″ el_file1=”” el_file2=””][/TS_VCSC_Lightbox_Gallery]

27.08.1965 Opening of National Mosque at Kuala Lumpur / Pembukaan Masjid Negara, Kuala Lumpur
22.09.1975 Koran Reading Competition 1975
11.03.1988 Opening of Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah Mosque, Selangor
03.10.2003 10th Islamic Summit Conference