The ICC Trophy – A Global Dimension in Cricket
The ICC Trophy was established in 1979 with the objective of improving the popularity of cricket and to enhance quality of the game played by the non-playing associate members of the International Cricket Council. ICC Trophy was also an opportunity for ICC associate members to promotion to join the Big-Seven comprising Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and West Indies in test and the World Cup one-day competition.
Kuala Lumpur is the first Asian venue to host the tournament whcih will be participated by a record 22 nations from March 24 to April 12, 1997. They are Argentina, Bangladesh, Bermuda, Canada, Denmark, East and Central Africa, Fiji, Gibraltat, Hong Kong, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kenya, Namibia, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Singapore, United Arab Emirates, USA, West Africa, and host Malaysia. The top four Commonwealth countries in the tournament will quality for The Kuala Lumpur 98 – XVI Commenwealth Games where cricket will be played for the first time.







Date of Issue: 24.03.1997
30sen, 50sen, RM1, Presentation Pack