In Malaysia, the history of the museum´s establishment began in 1883 when the first museum in the country, the Perak Museum, was established in Taiping. This was followed by the establishment of the Sarawak Museum in Kuching (1888) and the Selangor Museum in 1904 (the former site of this building has been the National Museum since 1963). To date there are over 200 museums throughout Malaysia. The main function of the museum is to educate and disseminate information on the history, culture and nature of the country. At the same time, museums also play a role in strengthening self-esteem and unity among the people as well as contributing to the country´s tourism industry.

POS Malaysia in collaboration with the Malaysian Museum Association and Malacca Museum Corporation is issuing stamps and philatelic materials in conjunction with the National Level International (HMA) 2018 National Day celebration by immortalizing the Perak Museum, Sarawak Museum, National Museum and Melaka Museum as the subjects of this release.