Malaysia is a federal monarchy in Southeast Asia consisting of 13 states and three federal territories. It was established on 16 September 1963. Prior to that, a Malayan Federation was formed on 1 February 1948. It became an independent member of the British Commonwealth in 1957. The first stamps of Malaysia, issued on 16 September 1963, depict a map of the new country. The states continued to issue stamps, but these were restricted to low denomination definitive stamps and incidental commemorative stamps for special anniversaries.

Formation of the Federation of Malaysia_10senFormation of the Federation of Malaysia_12senFormation of the Federation of Malaysia_50sen





Malaysia – The Making of a Nation (Cheah Boon Kheng), 981-230-154-2

The Federation of Malaysia, An Experiment In Nation Building
Formation of the Federation of Malaysia