The first round shaped stamp of Malaysia is from the stamp set issued on May 15, 1971. The stamps were issued to commemorate the opening of new building of Bank Negara Malaysia in Kuala Lumpur. The stamps were printed using photogravure approach by Harrison.

Bank Negara Tanah Melayu was set up in January 1959. One of its main responsibilities is to supervise all activities of commercial banks in Malaysia through the Banking Ordinance 1958 which was super-ceded by the Banking Act 1973. With the formation of Malaysia on 16th September 1963, Bank Negara Tanah Melayu came to be known as Bank Negara Malaysia (Central Bank of Malaysia). With effect from June 1967, Bank Negara Malaysia has been issuing Malaysia’s currency notes and coins.