Thirty years ago on 8th August 1967, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand, signed the Bangkok Declaration establishing the Association of the Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN). Since then the association has been enlarged and included Brunei Darussalam on 8 January 1984 and Vietnam on 28 Jul 1995.

The ASEAN nations came together with three main objectives: to promote the economic, social and cultural development of the region through cooperative programmes; to safeguard the political and economic stability of the region against big power rivalry; and to serve as a forum for the resolution of inter-regional differences.
As the Chairman of the ASEAN Standing Committee in its 30th year, Malaysia is proud to participate in the anniversary celebrations. The 30th Anniversary Celebrations will remind the people of ASEAN of the important role that ASEAN has played in striving for peace, stability and prosperity in this region. It will also be a platform for ASEAN to renew its spirit of solidarity and cooperation and to reaffirm its original objectives and goals in facing challenges beyond the 20th Century.






Date of Issue: 08.08.1997
30sen, 50sen, RM1, Presentation Pack