The Aga Khan Award for Architecture was established in 1977 to encourage good building practices and enhance Islamic culture as expressed through architecture. Its method is to recognize examples of architectural excellence that encompass concerns as varied as contemporary design, social housing, community improvement and development, restoration, re-use and area conservation, and landscaping and environmental issues. Through its effort, the Award seeks to identify and encourage building concepts that successfully address the need and aspirations of Muslim societies. The Award is held every three years, and is governed by a Steering Committee chaired by his Highness Aga Khan. Awards totaling up to US$500,000 – the largest architectural prize in the world – are given to projects selected by an independent Master Jury. Since its inception, the Award has recognized almost 100 projects that have set new standards of excellence in architecture, planning, conservation and landscape design.

Each triennial Award cycle culminates in a prize-giving ceremony that announces the Award recipients to the world. The 2007 Award Ceremony, marking the 30th anniversary of the Award and the completion of its 10th cycle, which is held at the Petronas Twin Towers on 4 September 2007, is in recognition of its iconic status as an international landmark and a symbol of the contemporary Malaysian society.

In 2004, the Petronas Twin Towers won the Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2004 for “pointing to a new direction in skyscraper design with their technological innovations, rich spatial expression, and their sensitive response to the local environment”.

The host of each Award Ceremony has issued specially designed commemorative stamps in honor of the Award. Previous Award Ceremonies were held at Shalimar Gardens in Lahore, Pakistan (1980), Topkapi Palace in Istanbul, Turkey (1983), Badi Palace in Marrakesh, Morocco (1986), Saladin’s Citadel in Cairo, Egypt (1989), Registan Square in Samarkand, Uzbekistan (1992), Karaton Surakarta in Solo, Indonesia (1995), the Alhambra in Granada, Spain (1998), the Citadel of Aleppo, Syria (2001), and the Gardens of Emperor of Humayun’s Tomb in Delhi and the Agra Fort, India (2004).
50sen , Sheet 20x 50sen
Date of Issue: 04.09.2007