The Group of Fifteen (G-15) was established as a Summit Level Group of Developing Countries in September 1989 following the conclusion of the Ninth Non-Aligned Summit Meeting in Belgrade, Yugoslavia. Member countries are Algeria, Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Jamaica, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, Peru, Senegal, Venezuela and Zimbabwe.

The G-15 was established in the firm belief that there is considerable potential for greater and mutually beneficial cooperation among developing countries, with a view to enlarging collective self-reliance in an increasing interdependet world, especially in the areas of investment, trade and technology. By acting as a catalyst for greater South-South Cooperation, the G-15 aims at facilitating national efforts for development and economic progress, This cooperation is also expected to lend greater cohesion and credibility to developing countries in their efforts to pursue a more positive and productive North-South dialogue.

The G-15 has established a wide range of development and technical cooperation projects. A Commitee on Investment, Trade and Technology (CITT) helps the Group to evaluate, guide, facilitate and promote trade, investment and technology flows among G-15 countries, and to reduce barriers to such cooperation. The activities and programmes of the G-15 are supported by a Technical Support Facility, located in Geneva.

Malaysia is once again honoured to host the seventh Summit in Kuala Lumpur from 3 to 5 November 1997.


Date of Issue: 03.11.1997
30sen, RM1, Presentation Pack